Wireless Woes

Posted: July 28, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Well, I got the new HTPC put together over the weekend — except for wireless.  It doesn’t like my D-Link DWL-G520 for some reason.  No problem with the old D-Link DWL-520+, but it doesn’t support WPA encryption, so I can’t connect to my network.  Fortunately, I have nice neighbors who let me use their connection, so I have internet access, but I don’t have access to my file server.

I shall have to research this more, but later.  Tomorrow Sarah goes to RWA in San Francisco, so it’ll be a busy time.

One more oddity: My Puppy Linux LiveCD takes forever to load into RAM.  We’re talking a number of minutes, rather than the 20-30 seconds on the 3GHz Celeron.  What’s up with that?

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    I had a similar problem loading Ubuntu on one of my PCs – normally 30 seconds for a complete boot, it had gone up to three full minutes. Every single thing was slower, not just one program. Oddest thing – the problem ended up being in the video hardware.

Leave a Reply

