Guitars Abound

Posted: July 12, 2007 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

A little while ago, I raved about Guitar Hero. But, see, I don’t own a game console, and I really don’t want to buy one just for Guitar Hero.

I did think about it seriously, though.

Then I found an open-source PC clone called Frets on Fire. There are others, but this one impressed me the most. So much that I felt the need to get myself a Red Octane wireless guitar and a PSX/USB adapter (which I then found on eBay for $5 less just after I ordered it — the seller seems to carry them regularly AND ships from the US instead of overseas). With these two devices (and the “joystick” driver for the adapter), I can play Frets on Fire with a guitar controller. Too cool. I’ve been waiting anxiously for them to arrive.

They both arrived today.

Wow!

I don’t know how else to put it. My son and I have been playing with it for about two or three hours now, and my arms hurt, but … Wow!

I don’t think I’ll be worrying about that console any more. With Frets on Fire, I have access to zillions of free songs out there, and I don’t have to work my way up to a song I like (like Kansas’ Carry On Wayward Son) through a bunch of songs I’m not that fond of.

Now, if I could only get it on my 61″ TV….

Leave a Reply

