Fireworks!

Posted: July 4, 2007 in Uncategorized

We went to Memorial Park downtown to see the fireworks tonight. (It’s combined with an orchestra, playing the 1812 Overture, with real cannons!)

Normally, they send up a rocket, wait until everyone Oohs and Aahs, then send up the next one. Generally, this means 2-3 per minute, and a 30 minute presentation with a nice finale.

This year, they did something different. I think I remember other times when they did a medley starting with the Star Wars theme just as the first rocket went up, continued on for about 20 minutes or so, then launched into 1812 so that the cannons came right before the finale. Maybe I’m wrong, but that’s what I remember from years past.

This year, they started with the 1812 Overture. We’d heard rumors that, because of the heavy storms during the day, they weren’t going to do the fireworks this year. At this point, Sarah was convinced that was true. When the cannons went off, I thought she might be right after all, and I asked if she wanted to pack it in for the night.

Then the first volley of fireworks started. I thought they’d decided to just do the finale — they were going up about every 2-3 seconds. That’s 20-30 per minute. A little lame for a finale, but acceptable.

Except that this continued on for the next half hour!! I timed it, just to make sure I wasn’t high — it was, indeed, 20-30 per minute. That’s 600-900 rockets!! Geez! And the finale had about 75 rockets in the space of 30 seconds.

Incredible show; that’s all I have to say. I hope yours was as spectacular.

Leave a Reply

