Guitar Hero ROCKS!

Posted: March 26, 2007 in Uncategorized
Tags:

My youngest son’s best friend came over tonight for a sleepover, along with his PS2 and Guitar Hero II.  

I admit I had hopes something like this would happen when we bought him the game and controller for his birthday a couple weeks ago, knowing fully well that he would be coming over in the near future.  I’d read about Guitar Hero ever since it came out, and it sounded like a ball to play with, but we don’t own a game console of any kind (just PCs), so I’d figured it wasn’t in the offing any time soon.

Tonight I got to play with it, though, and I was impressed.  I’m a beginning guitar player, and I won’t lie to you and say it’s just like playing a real guitar, any more than playing a one-and-a-half-octave toy synthesizer with mini keys is just like playing a piano.  But it is remarkably true to the experience of playing a lead guitar.  Right down to the audience reaction to your playing.  And to the point of finger fatigue and callouses.  I’ve played piano since I was eight, so I don’t exactly have problems with fancy fingering, but I haven’t been diligent about practicing lately, and it showed.  The third time through “Carry On Wayward Son” on the medium level, I could barely move my fingers.  My final score said I hit 73% of the notes, but it felt more like 37%.

Still, it was even more fun than I’d hoped.  After you get through each song, the game tells you “You Rocked.”

Oh, yeah.  I ROCKED!

Comments
  1. brownkitty says:

    So for the full concert experience, you play Guitar Hero and Dance Dance Revolution at the same time?

Leave a Reply

