Shatner for President!

Posted: November 21, 2006 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Yeah, I know I’m not the first one to suggest this, but I think I’m the only one who’s not a die-hard Trekkie/Trekker/Whatever-they-call-themselves-these-days!

I was explaining to my son my theory on why William Shatner is now hosting a game show, which can be summed up with: “Hey, I haven’t done that before!”

Recounting each of his career moves, I realized there was a common theme: critically panned, but sold like hotcakes. Until Boston Legal, that is, which earned him the coveted Emmy.  I think it’s because he’s got no fear, and just doesn’t give a dang what people think of him.

It seems to me that’s what we need in a president in 2008.

So…

Shatner for President in 2008!

Now, what kind of campaign promises would Shatner make? I have a few ideas:

  • Paid time off to watch Boston Legal
  • “Performance” of Mr. Tambourine Man to replace Pledge of Allegiance
  • Courts required to accept “Live Long and Prosper” for swearing-in
  • Constitutional amendment requiring schools to acknowledge SciFi as legitimate literature
  • Free plans for a working phaser with every tax return audited by the IRS
  • Eliminate presidential natural-born citizen requirement for him and his running mate, Schwarzenegger
  • First fireside chat, Shatner will demonstrate the TJ Hooker over-the-car-hood slide without hurting himself
  • Congress can Show Us The Money for a change!
  • A Vulcan sex slave in every home
Comments
  1. outtamyskull says:

    Um, isn’t he canadian?

    • danielmhoyt says:

      Born there, and if he’s actually still a citizen, that can change. 🙂 And popular opinion is the one thing that can trounce that pesky natural-born citizen thing. The guy’s got the popularity to pull it off.
      In any case, I edited that campaign promise slightly to make it clearer.
      IMHO, in practice it would go something like this: announce, run unofficially, lobby to change the requirement (I don’t think it will happen unless there’s a serious prospect shilling for the job, and Arnie hasn’t done that yet — although there’s been talk on the late-night joke circuit), and then get whatever party’s he’s running for to “sponsor” the legislation to change it in time for the official run.

    • sarahahoyt says:

      Did he say president of the US?
      I’d like to clarify that in response to this post I attempted to give him the cat’s prozac. It didn’t take.
      Sarah

Leave a Reply

